Courses

 
Click on the button below to view the current schedule. The classroom is located in Springfield, VA and the range portion, if applicable, takes place at the NRA headquarters in Fairfax, VA. Please contact the instructor via email or phone to sign up.


Utah Multi-State Concealed Firearms Course I
This four hour course takes place in the classroom and meets the Utah mandated training requirements for a permit to carry a concealed handgun. The Utah permit offers the greatest reciprocity of any state permit. Obtaining a Utah permit will allow you to carry a firearm in 30 states, much the same way your driver's license allows you to drive in another state.    Course fee includes fingerprinting, photograph, photocopy of driver's license and mailing of permit.  Fee does not include 65.25 payable to the state of Utah. 
Cost - $120

Combined FIRST Steps Pistol and Utah Multi-State Course II
This course consists of four hours in the classroom and one hour on the range and meets the mandated training requirements for a permit to carry a concealed and loaded handgun in Virginia and Utah.  Fee does not include any state permit fees.
Cost - $180

The following recognize a Utah
non-resident permit:

Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia†, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming
 

Note: I make every effort to ensure this map is accurate; however, gun laws and their interpretations can change. Be sure to verify all applicable laws before carrying a firearm. Additionally, be aware that some states allow local municipalities to enact additional restrictions. Regulations on where and how firearms may be carried differ from state to state

 

 

AR-15
This course, designed by Discover Shooting, will instruct you to be proficient at disassembling, reassembling, cleaning, lubricating, identifying worn or damaged parts, and parts replacement. Additionally, after-market parts and modifications are discussed, with an emphasis on what products work and what products will not. You will learn the best parts manufacturers to choose from and which ones to avoid. This course is a must if you want to keep your AR-15 running properly and a perfect counterpart to a tactical training course offered elsewhere.
Cost - $180

Range Session
A private range session is for a student who wished to simply attend a range session - no prior experience is required to attend this.  Use of my guns is availble.  Ammunition and Range time are not covered in this cost.
Cost - $35

Laser Training
Laser training is an excellent method used to quickly identify and correct trigger control and sight alignment discrepancies. It is also a great way to develop instinctive or point shooting skills. This one hour course assumes previous pistol shooting experience.  Students with laser equipped pistols are encouraged to use their own. Otherwise, the course is taught using a Beretta 92FS (9mm) equipped with a Crimson Trace laser grip. Course does not include ammunition or range time fees. Students should anticipate needing 100 rounds of ammunition.                                
Cost - $35

Ammunition / Gun Sampler
This is intended to be used in conjunction with a Laser Training or Private Range Session.  Shooters are able to shoot five different calibers in seven different guns.  This experience helps students determine the correct caliber and handgun size for them. 
Calibers included are:

  • 10 rounds - .22 Long Rifle
  • 10 rounds - .38 Special
  • 10 rounds - .357 Magnum
  • 10 rounds - 9mm Luger (Parabellum)
  • 5 rounds - .40 S&W
  • 5 rounds .380 ACP

Guns are:

  • Smith and Wesson 2206 - .22
  • Smith and Wesson Model 6 Revolver - .22
  • Beretta 92 FS - 9mm
  • Taurus 605 - .38 Special & .357 Magnum
  • Smith and Wesson - .38 Special & .357 Magnum
  • Smith and Wesson 99OL - .40 S&W
  • Sig 230 SL - .380 ACP

Cost - $25
 

FIRST Steps Pistol*
Firearm Instruction Responsibility and Safety Training - FIRST Steps Pistol is an NRA certified course. Students will learn about the rules for safe gun handling, pistol parts and operation, shooting positions, ammunition, shooting fundamentals, storage, and dissembling and cleaning the pistol. Course includes two hours of classroom instruction and one hour of range time.

Students will receive:

  • Basics of Pistol Shooting handbook
  • NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure
  • Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification booklet
  • Basic Practical patch
  • FIRST Steps Pistol certificate (upon successful completion of the course)

    Students are encouraged to bring their own firearm, if available, with 50 rounds of ammunition. Those wishing to borrow a firearm are provided with a .22LR with 50 rounds of ammunition.
    Cost - $100



    The following recognize a Utah
    non-resident or Virginia resident permit:

    Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming
     

    Note: I make every effort to ensure this map is accurate; however, gun laws and their interpretations can change. Be sure to verify all applicable laws before carrying a firearm. Additionally, be aware that some states allow local municipalities to enact additional restrictions. Regulations on where and how firearms may be carried differ from state to state




     

    FIRST Steps Shotgun*
    Firearm Instruction Responsibility and Safety Training - FIRST Steps Shotgun teaches the basic knowledge, skills, and attitude for the safe and proper use of a shotgun in shooting a moving target. This course is at least four hours long and includes classroom and range time learning how to shoot shotguns at moving targets. Students learn the rules for safe gun handling, shotgun parts and operation, shotgun shell components, shotgun shell malfunctions, shooting fundamentals, range rules, shooting at straight away and angled targets, and cleaning.

    Students will receive:

  • Basics of Shotgun Shooting handbook
  • NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure
  • Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification booklet
  • Basic Practical patch
  • FIRST Steps Shotgun certificate (upon successful completion of the course)

    Students are encouraged to bring their own firearm, if available, with 25-50 rounds of ammunition. Those wishing to borrow a firearm are provided with a 12 or 20 gauge shotgun and 25 rounds of ammunition.
    Cost - $105

     

    FIRST Steps Rifle*
    Firearm Instruction Responsibility and Safety Training - FIRST Steps Rifle students will learn about the rules for safe gun handling, pistol parts and operation, shooting positions, ammunition, shooting fundamentals, storage, and dissembling and cleaning the pistol. Course includes two hours of classroom instruction and one hour of range time.

    Students will receive:

  • Basics of Rifle Shooting handbook
  • NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure
  • Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification booklet
  • Basic Practical patch
  • FIRST Steps Rifle certificate (upon successful completion of the course)

    Students are encouraged to bring their own firearm, if available, with 50 rounds of ammunition. Those wishing to borrow a firearm are provided with a .22LR with 50 rounds of ammunition.
    Cost - $100

    Private Course
    Any of the above courses can be taught to private groups in your home or office. A minimum of four people is typically required.
    Cost - Varies depending on location and class.  Please call for details.

     

    *Meets the mandated training requirements for a permit to carry a concealed pistol in Virginia.

    The following recognize a Utah
    non-resident or Virginia resident permit:

    Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, and West Virginia

    Note: I make every effort to ensure this map is accurate; however, gun laws and their interpretations can change. Be sure to verify all applicable laws before carrying a firearm. Additionally, be aware that some states allow local municipalities to enact additional restrictions. Regulations on where and how firearms may be carried differ from state to state
    †It is recommended that Virginia residents obtain a Virginia Permit.



    To enroll call
    888-50-PERMIT or e-mail learn2shoot@gmail.com.
     

    Home